Video: Speed-retouch | Self Portrait

Every photographer has their own process. Mine has very little to do with the actual photography part. I like to spend as little time in-camera as possible, and make the real magic happen in post.  I wanted to show the progression of a single photo from start to finish, so I made a time-lapse screen capture of my editing over the course of several hours (condensed to 3 minutes for your viewing). Enjoy!

I treat a photo like a half-finished painting: softening every detail, painting in the shadows and highlights, adjusting every colour accent, and overlaying gritty textures. Here is a before & After look:

ShannonWilson-facebook copy

I understand that some photographers would prefer the original, raw version of this photo. But art is just an opinion, isn’t it? Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Video: Speed-retouch | Self Portrait

Comments are closed.