My Top 5 European Food Adventures

Pesto Pasta in Venice
This pasta blew my actual mind. We like to think our American-style Italian food is pretty spot-on, but not one Italian that I met on my travels knew what “Alfredo” pasta was.Β  So I tried an authentic Italian dish, cooked with the absolute minimum ingredients; just oils, pesto and spices. Simple andΒ delicious. Tip: Even better with an italian Bellini, a drink based with Prosecco sparkling wine and peach nectar, which originated in Venice as well!

18696319844_711133bc00_b

Magnum Ice Cream Bar in Holland
Magnum Ice Cream is available at any convenience store in Canada, with a big price tag. The price tag isn’t any smaller in Holland, but the options are infinite! You pick your ice cream, you pick your coating, you pick your toppings! Whole strawberries, fudge drizzle, peanut butter. Anything!Β  It’s the magnum version of make-your-own fro yo. An amazing treat that you will definitely regret passing up.

Icing Sugar Waffle in Amsterdam
I have no idea what they are doing differently here, but the waffles are on-freakin-point. It may have something to do with the staggering amount of the population that is suffering from the munchies. It’s soft, fluffy, sweet and filling. It was one of my all-time favorite food experiences.

Edam Cheese from Edam
These guys are basically winning the cheese game world-wide. We spent about an hour biking around a beautiful little town on the edge of Edam, every shop was stacked from floor-to-ceiling with wheels of delectible cheese. Every. single. shop. window. Cheese! Paired with a nice wine, this cheese will make you fall in love.

Cheese Fondue in Switzerland
I was blessed to be able to experience an authentic Swiss fondue pot during my trip to Switzerland. I was with a large group for a multiple-course meal. The first course was thick tasty bread to be dipped in a steaming pot of creamy cheese fondue. I would definitely recommend finding time to have a fondue evening if you find yourself in Switzerland.

4 thoughts on “My Top 5 European Food Adventures

    • ShannonSabra January 22, 2016 / 4:10 am

      No problem! Thanks for the read πŸ™‚

  1. michaelamanningtravel January 22, 2016 / 11:02 am

    Oh wow, sounds amazing! Literally all my favourite foods too! I adore cheese! Cheese fondue in Switzerland sounds idyllic!

    • ShannonSabra January 22, 2016 / 5:02 pm

      Definitely! To. die. for.. Thanks for the read πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.